Inspiration

I have a number of apps that would really benefit from having Yelp search added, so I wanted to create an easy way to do that. My library is Yelp Bubbles, and with _ 7 easy steps _ you can add Yelp search to any iOS application, for the iPhone or iPad

What it does

It is a library that uses your GPS location to find out cool location near you, in a fun way. Start the library in your app, and you get 7 buttons appear on the screen, such as food, drinks, active, tours. Select one of these, and we will search via the Yelp Api for those type of locations near you.

How I built it

I built it in Objective-C using xcode. I started with what how I wanted to use the api in my app, then built that into a separate library that anybody can use.

Challenges I ran into

I haven't created a library before, or a cocoapod. And I hadn't used oath2 before, so getting all that working was tricky. Then I had a few iteration of the UI to get it looking good.

Accomplishments that I'm proud of

Actually finishing the app and getting it working. And once I decided to go down the route of creating a library, it was great to think about it from someone wanting to use it, and make it as easy to use as possible. Currently I have integrated the Yelp bubbles library into 10 off my own apps, with more coming.

What I learned

How easy it was to use the Yelp API, and how easy it was to extend my apps with this functionality.

What's next for Yelp Bubbles

Release Yelp bubbles to the public on git, create a cocoapod, and add more features to it.

Try it out

Here are some of the apps that feature Yelp Bubbles, and are on the app store:

London Boris Bikes https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/london-boris-bikes/id575920548?mt=8

Paris Velo System https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/paris-velo-system/id655017006?mt=8

Melbourne trams: https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/melbourne-trams/id708971114?mt=8

Melbourne Buses: https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/melbourne-buses/id771605278?mt=8

Public Transport Australia https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/public-transport-australia/id1028813570?mt=8

Hobart Buses https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/hobart-buses/id894852839?mt=8

Paris Guide https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/paris-guide-travel-guide/id945261571?mt=8

London Boris Bikes https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/london-boris-bikes/id575920548?mt=8 Free

Paris Velo System https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/paris-velo-system/id655017006?mt=8 Free

Toronto Travel https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/toronto-travel-trains-buses/id1094131470?mt=8

Built With

Share this project:
×

Updates