Inspiration

Have you ever found yourself clicking on a chain of Facebook profiles and eventually realizing you're on your cousin's husband's best friend from college's Facebook page? And then you accidentally like one of their pictures. To save yourself from social media embarrassment when you've gone down the rabbit hole in Facebook stalking, this extension prevents you from liking, commenting, or sharing a post, while not blocking any other functionality.

What it does

Prevents you from accidentally liking a Facebook picture.

How we built it

We built a Google Chrome extension

Challenges we ran into

Neither of us had ever worked with Chrome extensions so in the last 24 hours we familiarized ourselves with various Chrome Platform APIs.

Accomplishments that we're proud of

One of our team members had never used HTML, CSS, or JS before and by the end she was hacking like a pro.

What's next for Down the Rabbit Hole

Mobile! The problem of accidentally liking a post or picture is much more common when browsing Facebook on a mobile device, so our next step is to add this "Stealth mode" to mobile devices.

Share this project:
×

Updates

Luisa Vasquez posted an update

As of right now we are able to enable "Stealth mode" but we're still working on how to disable it from the icon and having the icon color change depending on whether it is enabled or not. Currently if you want to disable "Stealth mode" you have to refresh your browser.

Log in or sign up for Devpost to join the conversation.